Local Activities

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit


Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1


Chapel Hill/Carrboro

Ackland Art Museum UNC campus http://www.ackland.org/
Carolina Inn Fridays on the Front Porch (Bands) Christmas Displays http://www.carolinainn.com/
Community Center Park Swimming pool, playground, free play mornings http://www.townofchapelhill.org/town-hall/departments-services/parks-recreation/facilities-greenways-parks/parks/chapel-hill-community-center
Fearrington Village Belted Cows and Goats; shops; food http://www.fearrington.com/
Forest Theater UNC campus
Kidzu Museum for children ages 0-8 http://www.kidzuchildrensmuseum.org/
Library If you live in Orange County you can use any of the 3 county libraries (Chapel Hill, Hillsborough, Carrboro). Each requires a separate library card. http://chapelhillpubliclibrary.org/
http://www.orangecountync.gov/departments/library/index.php
Mardi Gras Bowling Center 6118 Farrington Rd
Wednesday night Family Specials
http://www.mardigrasbowling.com/
Morehead Planetarium UNC campus; Franklin St http://moreheadplanetarium.org/       
NC Botanical Garden 1000 Laurel Hill Rd http://ncbg.unc.edu/
Patterson's Mill Country Store 5109 Farrington Rd
Really Really Free Market Carrboro - 1st Saturday of the month 1:30-4:30 http://www.carrboro.com/reallyreallyfreemarket/
Second Friday ArtWalk

Southern Village Movies on the Lawn Friday & Saturday nights through mid-October http://www.thelumina.com/
Weaver Street Market & Lawn Weaver St, Carrboro; food and place to play
Things to do Things to do with kids in Chapel Hill http://www.tripbuzz.com/things-to-do-with-kids/chapel-hill-nc

Durham

Bennett Place State Historic Site Civil War Historical site http://www.nchistoricsites.org/bennett/bennett.htm
Nasher Art Museum Duke Campus http://nasher.duke.edu/
Duke Forest 3 mile circular walking path on 751 near Erwin Rd; many hiking paths http://dukeforest.duke.edu/
Duke Gardens http://www.hr.duke.edu/dukegardens/
Duke Homestead & Tobacco Museum http://www.nchistoricsites.org/duke/duke.htm
Forest Hills Park 1639 University Drive
seasonal water features
See above
Lemur Center (Duke Primate Center) Appt required 2 weeks prior. 919.489.3364
Ganyard Hill Farm Pumpkin patch, cornfield maze http://ganyardhillfarm.com/
The Little Gym 2501 University Dr, Durham http://www.thelittlegym.com/durhamchapelhillnc/pages/default.aspx
Museum of Life and Science 433 Murray Ave
Interactive children's museum
http://lifeandscience.org/
NCCU Art Museum http://www.nccu.edu/artmuseum/index.cfm
Scrap Exchange Creative reuse center http://scrapexchange.org/
Streets at Southpoint Mall, play area, fountains http://www.streetsatsouthpoint.com/
Stagville Historic plantation http://www.nchistoricsites.org/stagville/stagville.htm
West Point on the Eno 5000 N. Roxboro Road
Hiking, camping, paddling, nature
http://www.enoriver.org/what-we-protect/parks/west-point-on-the-eno/

Raleigh

Marbles Kids Museum Museum, IMAX theater http://www.marbleskidsmuseum.org/
Museum of History http://ncmuseumofhistory.org/
Museum of Natural Sciences http://naturalsciences.org/
NC Art Museum http://ncartmuseum.org/
Pullen Park 520 Ashe Ave
Carousel, train, kiddie boats
Raleighwood Eat dinner while you watch a movie.
6609 Falls of Neuse Rd. 919.847.0326
http://www.raleighwoodmovies.com/

Burlington

Burlington City Park Playground, carousel, train, rides http://www.burlingtonnc.gov/index.aspx?NID=55
BMOC Outlets http://www.burlingtonoutletvillage.com/

Hillsborough

Eno State Park
Hillsborough Hogg Day - mid June Local festival http://hillsboroughchamber.com/events/hillsborough-hog-day/
Last Fridays Downtown Hillsborough http://www.hillsboroughartscouncil.org/lastfridays.html
Maple View Farm 3109 Dairyland Rd, Hillsborough
Locally made ice cream and milk. Very close to Chapel Hill and lots of fun.
http://www.mapleviewfarm.com/
Occanechi-Saponi Pow-Wow - June
Triangle Sportsplex Swimming, ice skating, toddler tumbling http://www.trianglesportsplex.com/

Sawapahaw

Saturdays in Saxapahaw & Rivermill http://www.rivermillvillage.com/saturdays-in-saxapahaw-2
Tubing on the Occoneechee River http://hawrivercanoe.com/

Chatham County

Jordan Lake http://www.ncparks.gov/Visit/parks/jord/main.php/

Outside the Triangle

North Carolina Zoo Asheboro. Lots of walking required. http://www.nczoo.org/
Greensboro Children's Museum Huge, fun museum http://www.gcmuseum.com/
Kerr Lake Large lake, lots of access points http://www.ncparks.gov/kerr-lake-state-recreation-area
Old Salem Winston-Salem http://www.oldsalem.org/

Also Check

Carolinaparent.com calendar
Carrboro Parks & Recreation http://www.carrbororec.org/
Chapel Hill Parks & Recreation http://www.townofchapelhill.org/town-hall/departments-services/parks-recreation
Hillsborough/Orange County Parks & Recreation http://www.co.orange.nc.us/RecParks/
UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106
If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.